Saint Aloysius Historical Society
  • Home
  • Grotto
  • Contact/Membership Info/Map
  • Cemetery
  • Greenbush Days
  • Clergy
  • Church Buildings

Saint Aloysius Cemetery
is located to the back of the site.
It was originally called St Francis Cemetery and was established in 1883.  With the building of the third church, it became known as the St Aloysius Cemetery. 

Picture
Picture
Picture
Picture
        The first resident parish priest, Father 
        Francis Mary Verdan, born November 
        27, 1853 in St John de Tholme, Haute,       
        Savoie, France, is buried here. Father   
        Verdan died in 1932.  His stone as shown
        here, along with many others that were
        in severe need of repair.  In 2007
        repairs were made to the cemetery.
        

Picture
This memorial sign (left) commemorates the people buried in the cemetery in unmarked graves according to St Aloysius (Hickory) Parish records beginning in 1883. Father Donald Thissen (right) celebrates Memorial Day mass in the cemetery.


Picture
Picture
Patrick Hallisey (1784-1881) is the oldest settler buried at Greenbush and the oldest known person buried in Crawford County.  Another stone inscribed in French, marks the resting place of Mariane Lafouge (1800-1875), the mother of Xavier Lafouge, builder of the 1881 stone church at Greenbush.  Xavier Lafouge (1823-1909) came to Kansas from France at the close of the Civil War and was responsible for the building many of the area's stone structures, including his own home which still stands just east of Greenbush. The Lafouge home was the residence of Father Verdan for two years while a stone parish house was being constructed.  
Picture
Powered by Create your own unique website with customizable templates.